New Board Election Submittal and Deadlines

American Association

of the


February 7, 2018

Dear AADB Membership,

This is a repeat posting of the special election newsletter which focuses on the upcoming AADB board election. The repeating of this newsletter is because Randy Pope was the Chair but has since stepped down and the board needed to find someone else to replace Randy. The new Chair for the election committee and the election process is Jeff Bohrman. Please read this special newsletter carefully and consider joining the AADB Board!!

In accordance with the current AADB bylaws, it is time for another Board of Directors election. All nine (9) board positions will become open June 30, 2018 for a new 2-year term beginning July 1, 2018 and ending June 30, 2020. Members of the current board may apply for re-election to their current position or apply to run for another position, if they desire.

The Board of Directors positions are listed below:

Officers (4):

President & Vice President (must run as a team)



Board Members at Large (5):

Board Member #1

Board Member #2

Board Member #3

Board Member #4

Board Member #5

How to apply for the AADB Board:

There is an AADB Election Committee working to make this process as easy as possible for all. Please see the steps below to apply for the AADB Board if you are interested.

The process has some requirements. They are:

Must be an AADB member.

** Note: If you are not a current AADB member, you may join. Membership forms can be obtained online at or contact Mark Gasaway, AADB Treasurer – for assistance. Also an Individual Membership Form will be sent separately to the list in a fillable PDF format.

Must be DeafBlind (Active Member).

Must be a USA resident.

The steps:

If you are interested in running for the AADB Board of Directors:

1. Please send in the three (3) items listed below:

A. A bio of your background information

B. A short statement stating your interest to run for the

board and which position.

C. A copy of a photo of yourself or photo ID.

2. The DEADLINE for submitting shall be dated by MIDNIGHT Eastern Time March 31, 2018. No applications will be accepted after MIDNIGHT ET March 31st unless the election committee agrees to an extension. The voting process will run from approximately April 15, 2018 thru June 15, 2018 with the new board announced after June 15 but before July 1. Board members take office July 1, 2018. Please send your documents to Edyanne (Edy) Haafke, Election Committee Assistant, by email – or by USPS –

Edyanne Haafke

900 E. 14th Street, #312
Sioux Falls, SD 57104

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s